Final Video

 

Original Post

This was a very difficult for me to find a subject for this project. I originally wanted to do my project as a narrative on engagement ring or wedding dress shopping as well as I grappled around with the idea of seeing different inexpensive venues. The issue I kept running into was that a lot of vendors would not allow me to film or interview unless I bought a product or booked the venue.

After looking at the videos for James Oliver’s Foodtube as well as other Do-it-Yourself videos I thought it would be cool to do a how to video. Even though I had reservations about doing my DIY on flowers because I had already done a post on flowers I felt that it would be a good way to show that you can do anything even when you don’t have experience.

I had little to no experience doing flower arrangements and after my friends and family had given me pointers I realized it wasn’t as hard as it may seem. Trust me, if I can do it anyone can do it!

I bought an array of flowers at Albertsons, because of spring time and Easter, they were plentiful and pretty cheap. I think planned out the sort of story I wanted to tell. I thought it would be cool to do a how to with one arrangement but then do two more different kinds of arrangements.

For the filming of my video it was hard because I didn’t have anyone who would be willing to be on camera for me so I had to do it. My mom filmed all the parts where I am talking and she has not been educated on camera handling like I have. She did her best…

I wanted a majority of the video where I am speaking to be done in a medium shot but I feel like it was hard to get the entire arrangement in the frame while still being able to see my face and hear what I am saying. I also wanted to get some close ups and establishing shots of all the materials as well as the the arrangements.

When I was putting together all my clips I had to do a lot of slicing of my original clips because of some of the technical issues we ran into while my mom was filming. I used a mixture of images, still videos, and narrative videos for my final product.

I used the effects tool to speed of some of clips because it saved time as well as I’ve seen this technique used in some other DIY videos and thought it made it look a little fun. I also added a list of supplies that people would need to make it a little easier for viewers.

This is relevant to my topic because it aligns with the subject of ways to making your wedding cheaper because this is something that anyone can do themselves. As well as in my video, I state where I got my flowers, which were inexpensive,  as well as other inexpensive options to complete their own arrangements

Feedback 

The feedback I received was that I didn’t have very many transitions with both music and the video clips and it came across very choppy. Another recommendation I received was to show longer clips of the final flower arrangements.

Final Video 

For my final video I added transitions between certain footage where I felt that it was choppy or had a weird transition. I used a mixture of additive dissolve and cross dissolve transitions.

For the music I used, Warm Lights, and for the transitions of this music I used a couple fade in and fade out transitions. I lowered decibels in the beginning of some of the clips where there was narration and increased them in areas it was just visuals.

Final Video Story Timeline

Time                                                    Description

 

0:00-0:01                                             Flower Arrangement, Kitchen Space (Establishing Shot)

0:02-0:03                                             Flower Arrangements (Close ups)

0:04-0:07                                             Final Flower Arrangements (Medium Shot)

0:08-0:20                                             Explaining the video theme (Medium Shot)

0:20-0:23                                             Things you will need, supplies (medium shot)

0:24-2:12                                             Explain how to do the base and the accent flowers (med)

2:12-2:16                                             Adding accent flowers (Increased speed, medium)

2:16-2:35                                             Adding the greenery (Medium shot)

2:35-2:38                                             final arrangement (close ups)

2:38-2:41                                             Final arrangement (med. Upper angle)

2:41-2:50                                             Finals Arrangements and explanation of cost (Med shot)

2:51-2:56                                             Credits

 

 

Leave a Reply

