And So It Begins…

I know a lot of people maybe thinking what does a twenty-something, never been married, non-wedding planner, know about inexpensive wedding planning? You would be surprised how much I’ve learned acting as a fly on the wall not only for weddings but event planning all around.

I assisted in planning events on and off since I was in high school. My mom has always been a huge fan of throwing large parties and get-togethers. She never did it halfhearted either; she would make creative center pieces for a small Christmas party or Birthday party.  They were always spectacular events and the thing I always admired was her ability to create these events at half the cost.

About a year ago I started to intern for a wedding and events planning company. As most of you know the intern is the bottom of the food chain. They do all the work that the employees don’t want to do, or don’t have time to do, for no pay. I found it interesting the amounts brides would spend on their wedding day especially on the little details.

According to The Knot, the average cost of a wedding has increased from $27,882 in 2006 to $31,213 in 2016. That is over a $3,000 increase. The average wedding also has 136 attendees down from 149, in 2009, also reported from to The Knot.  As an intern, I could usually think of ways to create what the bride wanted, or something similar, at half the price.

These are one of the many reason why I decided to make Truly. Madly. Thrifty. I believe a wedding day should be less focused on the cost of the event and more focused on living in the moment of this incredible day. So who says you can’t have both? I believe a couple can have the wedding of their dreams within a reasonable budget.

There so much that goes into a wedding that I feel can be done at a lesser cost, or done on your own.  Why have someone do for you, what you can do for yourself? Now I’m not knocking event planners, they are God sends if your budget allows it. But like everything in this world it is all about balance.  The devil is in the details.

My post will include how to cut down on costs on anything from the engagement ring (for those of single ladies/ gentlemen that want to put a ring on it), flowers, center pieces, the wedding gown, the honeymoon, etc.

If you have any requests of things you would like to see send me a message or comment below!

Leave a Reply

